My review on A Mother’s Dream – Breast Milk and DNA Keepsake Jewelry

I want to begin by saying the following review is mine and it is based on my experience with this specific shop. A Mother’s Dream – Breast Milk and DNA Keepsake Jewelry which can be found on Facebook and Instagram.

https://www.facebook.com/amothersdrea/

When my daughter was born, I breastfed her for eight months. It was the longest I had breastfed any of my three children and the bond we created was so special to me. I wanted to have a keepsake made to commemorate this special time in our lives. I had been seeing ads all over Facebook about breastmilk jewelry so one day, I checked out the site and read the reviews. Based on the opinion of 49 people, this shop was rated 4.5 out of 5 stars. I checked out the photos and what other customers had received and I was overall impressed with the pieces.

One day, I saw a post from this shop stating a sale. 50% off one item and you get a ring for free. I thought “WOW what a great deal this is!!” Most items in the store are high priced so I wanted to take advantage of this sale. My breastfeeding journey was coming to an end so I sent out my last ounce of milk. I had no idea of what was to come.

I received an email on February 22 that my inclusions has been received. The seller informed me that it would take 12-16 weeks for my pieces to be completed. I had also reached out to ask if I could change my shipping address and I was given an automated response stating that the seller was away from the studio and would respond the next day. Two days later, I was able to update my shipping address.

On May 12th I asked if there was a way to check the status of my order. This was 12 weeks and 2 days after the seller had received my inclusions. I was greeted with an automated response stating she had a baby and orders were now pushed out 18-20 weeks from the date the inclusions were received. I thought, surely this couldn’t mean an additional 18-20 weeks since I was already 12 weeks in. After I got the automated response, the seller messaged me and said she wasn’t home at the time but she would be happy to check my order once she was home. Two days later, I checked in again and again I received the automated response.

On May 17th, the seller finally got in touch with me to tell me that my order was looking to be completed the weeks of 6/26- 7/10. This would put is 18-20 weeks from the date she received my inclusions. To me, this was surprising. I feel as though I was promised a time from of 12-16 weeks and then it was changed without warning when she had a baby. Now before you internet assholes get your panties in a bunch- relax. I know what it is like to have a baby; I’ve had three. It’s not the fact that she had a baby, by all means, have ALL the babies! It’s the lack of communication and clarity that was given when the baby was born. Or even before baby was born.

On June 30th, July 2nd and July 5th, I requested an update on my order since I still hadn’t received it. I was asked my shipping address again, and my ring size again, two things I had already given previously. On July 6th (19 weeks after my inclusions were received), I was told that approximate completion of my order was now 7/10. Now we are at 20 weeks after my inclusions were received. On July 18th, I provided my ring size yet again, as well as my shipping address as requested. On July 24th, I was told that the ring setting had left the warehouse and was heading to the seller where she would need to set my stone in it before she could ship it to me. This is now week 22.

On August 9th and 10th I asked for an update on my order considering it had been 24 weeks since I placed it. The seller had told me it was due to be sent out to me the following week. I again asked for an update on August 13th and 16th. She told me it would be available to pick up on Friday the 24th. You could only imagine my excitement. I had now waited 26 weeks for these two pieces of Jewelry that symbolized such a special time in my life. At the end of the day on August 24th when my PO box was empty yet again, I messaged the seller and was greeted with the same automated response that the seller was out of the studio and she would return messages in the following days.

Finally on August 27th, the seller told me she was sorry for the confusion and that she meant that it would be picked up by her post office and sent out to me on the 24th. Turns out, they needed to verify my shipping address YET AGAIN.

FINALLY on September 1st, a full 27 weeks and 2 days since she had received my inclusions, she sent me the shipping information and tracking number. Of course it was a holiday weekend so nothing updated in the USPS system until the following Tuesday. At this point, not only was I totally impatient, but I was annoyed that it had taken a full EIGHT months to receive these two pieces of jewelry that were so very important to me. On September 6th, I got confirmation that they had arrived. I rushed to the post office and excitedly opened the box, got out the packaged and rushed back to my car.

You can only imagine how excited I was to open this package. I got home, ripped open the mailer and inside was a certificate stating that the inclusions used in these pieces are authentic and preserved professionally. This certificate was dated August 20th so it boggles my mind why it took an additional 15 days to receive my order. There was also a handwritten thank you card from the seller. This was a sweet gesture. Also in the package were two little boxes.

Upon opening the boxes, I found both the pieces I ordered. They are absolutely beautiful. Breathtakingly stunning and I was in awe. I immediately placed the ring on my finger and put the locket around my neck. I stared at the pieces and was reminded of my breastfeeding journey with my daughter. That is why I had these pieces made; to remind me of the journey and the bond we shared and so that one day, I could tell her about it and I would have these two very special pieces to show her.

The ring is called the Grace ring. It was named after the sellers daughter and it is gorgeous. The center stone is my breastmilk (I can’t 100% confirm this but I do trust the seller for the most part) and it is so pretty. It has some flakes of glitter in it which is not something I asked for or wanted but I assume its something that can’t be prevented so I am okay with it. It seems that the ring setting is high quality and I am hoping it’ll last a very long time.

IMG_5347

IMG_5348

The locket is rose gold and has a heart shaped stone in the center made from my breastmilk. Again, there is glitter in it but that is probably unavoidable so it is fine. The locket itself is somewhat heavy so it is not something I can wear daily but it is nothing short of amazing. The chain is beautiful and I am obsessed with it.

IMG_5346

I know this review is forever long but I feel like it is needed given the products. These are things that we hold such a sentimental value for and I feel as though they should be reviewed in this way. I love my pieces. I wouldn’t trade them for anything and I am so very happy I purchased them. Am I thrilled that it took eight months to get them? Absolutely NOT. I am not happy that I felt like I was bothering the seller every couple days/weeks asking for an update on my order. I am not happy that questions were not answered and I was left without knowing what to expect.

Over all, I would recommend this company and seller to anyone because the pieces are unique and so personal. I would also recommend that the buyer has all the time in the world and that they shouldn’t expect to receive their keepsakes anytime soon.

I hope you enjoyed reading this as I enjoyed writing it. I hope that if you have any questions at all, you don’t hesitate to reach out to me. I am happy to answer any!

xoxo

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “My review on A Mother’s Dream – Breast Milk and DNA Keepsake Jewelry

  1. This is so cute!!! I love it! Your writing is also amazing, so well done girl!

    Like

    1. Awe thank you so much!! I love writing!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ruth Skelley (The Rolling Twenties) September 12, 2018 — 12:19 am

    A beautiful and sentimental post. You write beautifully. 😊🌸xxx

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! That means a lot to me!

      Like

  3. I’d never heard of breastmilk jewelry before! I can see the glitter in your locket – does it move around inside the stone? Is there liquid breastmilk inside the stone (and does the glitter help you see that liquid)? How lovely to have such a meaningful keepsake!

    Like

    1. Hey! Be sure to check out their Facebook page! Jessie is simply amazing and she will answer all your questions. The breastmilk is not liquid and it does not move at all. I am not sure how she cures it but the stone in the ring is shaped like a diamond and it’s so solid. I love it and the meaning it has for myself and my daughter.

      Like

  4. I ordered a ring and necklace from this company in September of 2018. My inclusions were sent and received in October of 2018. After countless emails checking on the status of my order and hounding, I received my pieces in late November 2019. So it took over a year to get my jewelry. And while the pieces are beautiful, the ring I ordered lost it’s breastmilk stone after only two weeks. I cannot express my disappointment in this company for taking so long to complete their products, but especially the lack of communication and clear lack of quality. I’m glad your pieces came out nicely and a pray that you don’t lose your precious stones like I did.

    Like

    1. Awe man! I am so sorry to hear this! Yes! It seems that the lack of communication is a trend here. I don’t understand why though. It blows my mind. My pieces are still fully in tact. I’m so sorry that happened to yours!

      Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close